Kitgum District is a district in Northern Uganda. It is named after its 'chief town' of Kitgum, where the district headquarters is located. It has suffered many deaths and social disruption resulting from the 20-year civil war within the region during the late 20th century. The government moved tens of thousands of residents were moved to internally displaced persons camps for their protection, where they were subject to raids by the rebels and also harsh conditions, including disease.

Kitgum District is bordered by South Sudan to the north, Kaabong District to the east, Kotido District to the southeast, Agago District to the south, Pader District to the southwest and Lamwo District to the northwest.[1] Kitgum, the largest town in the district, is located approximately 108 kilometres (67 mi), by road, northeast of Gulu, the largest city in the sub-region. This location lies approximately 460 kilometres (290 mi), by road, north of north of Uganda's capital, Kampala.

The district is composed of one county: Chua County. In 2010, Lamwo County was separated from Kitgum District to form Lamwo District. Kitgum District is a constituent part of Acholiland, home to an estimated 1.1 million Acholi, according to the 2002 national census.